Search type


Select Committee Visit

Policy@Manchester and our Politics Department hosted the Housing, Communities and Local Government Select Committee questions to Metro Mayors on Brexit and local government.

The evidence session was held in the Whitworth Council Chamber where; Mayor of Greater Manchester, Andy Burnham, Mayor of Tees Valley, Ben Houchen, Mayor of Cambridgeshire and Peterborough, James Palmer along with Len Duvall AM, Chair of the London Assembly's EU Exit Working Group made up the witness panel.

The meeting was part of an inquiry examining the key concerns of the local government sector ahead of the UK's withdrawal from the EU and the desired outcomes of negotiations.

Questioning came from several committee members including:, Helen Hayes MP, Jo Platt MP, Mary Robinson MP, Mike Amesbury MP and Liz Twist MP.

The session provided the opportunity for our politics students to witness first hand parliamentary business.

The Committee’s questions focused on the extent to which the Government is engaging with local authorities over Brexit, the effect of the loss of EU funding streams and changes to employment rights of workers and the potential to devolve EU powers to local government after withdrawal.

The evidence session was lived streamed you watch it here